D.E.A.R time disaster

My school is doing DEAR (Drop everything and read) this week. I'd much rather us do it everyday, but it's not in the culture of the school.

So today I set up each pod of students with 12 books of random interest and kinds. We started Dear at 2 pm, by 2:08 EVERYSTUDENTCLAIMEDTHEYHADREADEVERYBOOK! This starts the flood of questions. It was very frustrating, because I'm tryng to read, too. I ended up being a Dear Police office rather than enjoying 20 minutes of reading. I know it's a learned habit, but what can I do to get them to want to read one or two books well over scanning 12 in .005 seconds? Help?  

4 thoughts on “D.E.A.R time disaster

  1. Have you read Daily Five? It might help!! 🙂 Also, maybe try asking them to write a reading response to hold them accountable for their reading.
    At the beginning of the year, my second graders would take a whole stack of chapter books and tell me they were done reading all of them in 5-10 minutes. So I feel you!!

  2. Thank you. Did you do anything special on the front end? I’m thinking of having them do a response sheet or mini book report for every book they do Accelerated reader tests on. At least it will make them all write down the books they’ve read. Keep the ideas coming, please.

  3. Hi Jason,
    I just read the above comment. I do Daily Five!! It’s great because it teaches students how to read for a sustained amount of time. The revelation of this is that students actually need to be taught where to sit, how to sit, and practice for increments building up to 20 minutes.
    I hope this helps.

  4. Ok, I’m going to have to read up on this 5 minute plan. The sad thing is that our mornings are consumed with things and we usually go from announcements right into teaching. Very little ramp up time. We just right into a scripted reading block and then math. By the time we get to less scripted reading time, it’s 12:00 pm.

Leave a Reply

