This isn’t about teaching, but it is about learning

Today I hosted my 1st Epic Meal Prep Swap Dinner Party. (I have NO idea what that is, I just liked the name and the Hashtag.) Every Sunday I do I huge cook to prepare my meals for the week. My wife sometimes gets in on it and gets her lunches made. I make all my meals 3 meals, 2 snacks for 5 days. I sometimes do freezer meals for my family, too.

image

Over the summer somehow my Sunday cooks evolved into a cookout. On any given Sunday we’d have 5-8 friends over for food, fun and meal prep. Just a house full of love, noise and me getting my meals ready for the week.

image

The past couple of weeks my weekly cook turned into a time where I’d cook other people’s food, they’d box it up and go home and do their meal prep. Spreading the good news of meal prep I guess. The only thing is some of the food I was cooking looked so yummy and smelled so good. My guests started sharing their meals with one another. No prodding, just good old sharing.

image

Then I got this idea. What if we all brought a set amount of food (proteins and veggies) and cooked them here? We could set it out like a buffet and everyone just mix and match their meal prep? It would solve a fundamental issue some people have with meal prep, the same meal everyday.  It would also allow like minded people to share ideas, have fun and most of all stay true to their goals of meal prepping. No one loses.

This week we pulled it off. It was mostly people from the gym and a few nearest and dearest. All I can say is WOW. We over did it. So much good food. So many great meals made. I attempted to capture a pic of some of our best, but it wasn’t possible. They all looked so good. The best part of it is knowing that we call have great choices for lunch/dinner this week. Actually, we have so much left over this week that next week we all agreed just to bring some new veggies and we’ll be fine!

The final results were 6 people. Each brought varying amounts of meats and veggies. But we ended up making 64 meals consisting of proteins, veggies, some carbs and salads. It was my intention to weigh and measure all my food, but that good intention was derailed quickly. Not enough counter space. I don’t know how much we spent in all, but I am sure that we made out better than each of us going out to eat everyday this week. We also probably did better than each of trying to make a lunch/dinner everyday from scratch this week. Yeah, we’re going to make this a regular happening.

Do I need to say that I’m starting my school year off with a great plan and fantastic food. Now if I could just get those standards down.

2 thoughts on “This isn’t about teaching, but it is about learning

  1. I love this idea! I am curious about the cost, but I do agree that it’s probably cheaper than eating out!

    • I can’t not honestly say that it cost $x for make each meal. One of us is an accountant. I’m sure we could get him to crunch the numbers, but he’s to busy eating the good grub.

Leave a Reply

