My second Oly Lifting Meet

This past weekend I competed in my second Olympic Lifting meet in Savannah, GA. I do believe that I’ve found a niche’ outside of CrossFit that fits me. This is pretty exciting. Let’s do a SWOT.wpid-img_20151115_135945.jpg

Strengths

  • I increased my lifting weight in every area.
  • I was able to complete all three of my snatches.
  • Overall I was relaxed and I didn’t feel rushed.
  • I was able to keep my nutrition on track. The time from the last time you lifted up to the time you lift can be my nemesis. I find myself stressing about it. I didn’t do that this time at all.
  • My coaches are very understanding, supportive and on their game.
  • I hit 4 out of 6 lifts.

Weakness

  • I missed two of my clean and jerks. I have no idea what I was thinking, but I missed them none the less.
  • I didn’t qualify for the Pan Am games in June.
  • Though no one every gets all 6 lifts, I feel I let myself down by missing those two lifts.

Opportunities

  • I am more hungry to train than I’ve ever been. I’m focused on my eating even though I can legitimately relax. I’ve incorporated lots more mobility work into my everyday routine and I feel the results.
  • There’s a lot to learn from failure and I’ve looked over the video of those missed lifts just as much as I did the successful lifts.
  • There are a lot of Olympic lifting meets coming up that will allow me to qualify for the Pan Am Games in June.

Threats

  • Doing to much.
  • Not taking the time to get better. Expecting improvements overnight.
  • Taking a little time off during Christmas/New Years can be a go

wpid-img_20151115_124554.jpg

Leave a Reply

