#KeepWhitaker1st

wp-1459730849513.jpg

Shenanigans from the Faculty vs Student bball game Friday. I made 45 signs of this nature and passed them out to the audience. Totally insane! Didn’t get any pics! Augh!

No, I am not self absorbed and want you to put me first in your life. I was sadly, made aware that I will be moving to a different grade next year. This year has been a wonderful footnote to my hectic often castaway teaching career. I have an outstanding team. I’m “getting” the process of teaching a diverse class and group of students. This year has brought so much good to my outlook on teaching. And just like that…rug is pulled out from under me.

So in an effort to “get over it” I have made my own hashtag to help me laugh at this and try to move on…#KeepWhitaker1st or #KeepWhit1st.  You’ll see it on my IG posts and other random places.

I am going to do the an analysis of this change using Pros and Cons

Pros and Cons of going to 4th grade

  • I must learn new content areas. My teaching cert is K-5. There’s 0 wrong with knowing 1-2 grade levels. Standards and programs change so often that being in one grade for a long time is just as fluid as moving every single year.

  • My personality could be better used with older students. There are some very serious challenges coming out of 3rd grade next year. There are also some very challenges rising to 1st grade next year.

  • My structure and ideas are better suited for older students. And it works with little ones, too.

  • I may like the older grades. I do. From afar!

  • The discipline needs at 4th grade are huge. I am not interested in older students with poor behavior. I’d much rather curtail the younger students than try to fix those who’ve already established poor habits.

Pros and Cons to staying on 1st grade

  • I am learning the content, standards and procedures. Most of the mistakes I made this year have already been resolved. Next year is going to be even better. Besides

  • Remaining on a grade level isn’t a bad thing. The more comfortable you are with the content the more reflective, insightful and creative you can be.

  • I am way more comfortable with the younger students. It isn’t about like as much as it is about being familiar with the children. I’ve worked many of the “high flyers” on Kindergarten already. They know just like I do that we’ll be toughing it out together next year.

  • There are some very serious challenges coming to 1st grade next year. Not to make myself the savior, but I do want to point out something. If no one lovingly exhorts and puts clear boundaries around the rising 1st grade next year, what kind of student will they be by 4th grade?

  • I have the support structure in place already. No need to Storm, Norm and Form with the 1st grade team. We all know each other and endear one another highly. This has been a very supportive grade level. Diverse and as mixed as a bag of nuts. But a common thread we share is we all care for our students, we love and enjoy one another and we like to laugh…A LOT!

I don’t want to move to 4th grade. I think that’s pretty clear. However, I am very clear of this. (*Warning I am going to make a lot of spiritual statements. If you’re offended, please log off now…)

This life is simple. We are here to glorify Christ. Though I have the pleasure of working for MCS, I serve Jesus Christ. And that being said I am resting that He will have me exactly where He wants me to be. I am positioning myself to go where ever I am assigned next year. I have a preference and I believe that the final result will be different. But even if, I will do what I’m tasked to do with joy in my heart that I have another opportunity to glorify my Lord and Savior.

Because though #KeepWhitaker1st is tongue and cheek Glorifying Christ is my reality.

 

One thought on “#KeepWhitaker1st

  1. The World Needs Men …

    1. who cannot be bought;

    2. whose word is their bond;

    3. who put character above wealth;

    4. who possess opinions and a will;

    5. who are larger than their vocations;

    6. who do not hesitate to take chances;

    7. who will not lose their individuality in a crowd;

    8. who will be as honest in small things as in great things;

    9. who will make no compromise with wrong;

    10. whose ambitions are not confined to their own selfish desires;

    11. who will not say they do it” because everybody else does it”;

    12. who are true to their friends through good report and evil report, in adversity as well as in prosperity;

    13. who do not believe that shrewdness, cunning, and hardheadedness are the best qualities for winning success;

    14. who are not ashamed or afraid to stand for the truth when it is unpopular;

    15. who can say “no” with emphasis, although all the rest of the world says “yes.”

    Charles Swindoll, Living Above the Level of Mediocrity, pp. 107-8
    REPRESENT
      

Leave a Reply

